No need for ‘Bersatu 6’ to vacate seats?

FMT understands that the decision was made by Dewan Rakyat Speaker Johari Abdul

(FMT) – The six MPs who recently ceased to be members of Bersatu will not need to vacate their seats, FMT has been made to understand.

FMT understands that the decision by Dewan Rakyat Speaker Johari Abdul was communicated through email to Bersatu’s chief whip, Ronald Kiandee.

Johari also sent the Beluran MP a text message on the matter.

When contacted, Kiandee did not confirm or deny the matter but said that a press conference would be held by Bersatu president Muhyiddin Yassin at 3pm.

A source from Bersatu meanwhile said Johari had decided against having the six MPs vacate their seats to preserve “stability in Parliament”.

The six MPs are Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar) and Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan).

Bersatu said last month that they had ceased to be members after failing to respond to a notice to confirm their loyalty.

This led to Kelantan state assembly speaker Amar Abdullah declaring the Nenggiri seat, which is held by Azizi, vacant.

The Election Commission has since fixed Aug 17 for the Nenggiri by-election.