Let Dewan Rakyat speaker decide on status of six Bersatu MPs, says Zahid

Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi today called on all parties to allow the Dewan Rakyat Speaker to decide on the status of the six Bersatu members of Parliament who declared their support for the unity government.

(NST) – “Wait for the Speaker (Tan Sri Johari Abdul to decide the matter) in accordance with the (Dewan Rakyat) standing order.

“We will wait for the sitting in the middle of the month,” the Deputy Prime Minister, who is also the Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman said.

Zahid, who is also the Umno president, was asked to comment on the status of the six MPs after the Bersatu memberships were automatically ceased for announcing their support for Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Dubbed as the Bersatu rebels, the six MPs are Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang); Zahari Kechik (Jeli); Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan), Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanafi (Tanjong Karang) and Mohd Azizi Mohd Naim (Gua Musang).

He said this was because the six MPs and one assemblyman failed to adhere to the party’s directive.

Bersatu, he said, we will send a notice to Johari to notify on the violation of the act and the vacancy of the seats.

Johari yesterday said he has yet to receive any official notice from any party regarding the vacant seats involving six Bersatu MPs.

He added that he needed time to examine all matters carefully, especially involving laws including the Anti-Party Hopping Act passed in Parliament, before making any decisions against them.