Discontent with leadership among some Selangor Bersatu reps, says source

The source says the assemblymen are taking a wait-and-see approach before deciding on their next move.

(FMT) – Several assemblymen from Bersatu in Selangor are said to be dissatisfied with the party leadership over a number of issues, although they are allegedly taking a wait-and-see approach before deciding where their support lies.

“There are indeed several assemblymen who are discontented with the leadership, but it remains uncertain whether they want to follow the lead of Abdul Rashid Asari,” a source told FMT.

Rashid, the assemblyman for Selat Klang, declared his support for Selangor menteri besar Amirudin Shari yesterday.

He said he was prompted to back Amirudin after a series of actions by Perikatan Nasional (PN), especially Selangor PN’s silence on accusations levelled against the Malay Rulers.

Five other assemblymen from Bersatu were later reported as set to declare support for Amirudin as well: Muhaimin Harith Abdullah Sani (Batang Kali), Wan Dzahanurin Ahmad (Sungai Kandis), Jamil Salleh (Dengkil), Harrison Hassan (Jeram) and Rosnizan Ahmad (Morib).

However, this was refuted by Selangor opposition leader Azmin Ali and Wan Dzahanurin yesterday.

Another source nevertheless said that five assemblymen were being wooed to support the Pakatan Harapan-Barisan Nasional administration in Selangor.

“It seems they are being influenced due to the lack of allocations and the challenges in carrying out their duties,” the source said.

Rashid’s decision to back Amirudin came days after Bersatu amended its constitution to state that MPs or assemblymen would have their membership automatically stripped if they supported any other party or policy that is not aligned with Bersatu’s position.

The amendment is still pending approval from the Registrar of Societies.

Bersatu amended its constitution after six of its MPs pledged their support for Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim.

They are Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan), Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang), Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), and Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar).