MPs who vote against govt deemed to have resigned, says MoU

(FMT) – Every party in the unity government must ensure that their MPs support Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim and his administration in any confidence motions or bills in the Dewan Rakyat.

This is one of the conditions set under the memorandum of understanding signed by all the party leaders involved.

Based on the MoU, any MP who fails to toe the line as set by his or her party and, instead, votes against the prime minister or the government will be deemed to have resigned as an MP.

It added that the MP’s seat is then essentially vacated, citing Article 49A(1) of the Federal Constitution.

“The party concerned must then issue a notice to the Dewan Rakyat Speaker on the vacant seat, according to Article 49A(1), to notify the Election Commission (EC) on the need to hold a by-election.”

The MoU also stated that the parties have the sole prerogative in ensuring their respective MPs vote on all motions in accordance with party instructions.

The document also stipulates the establishment of a National Consultative Council comprising representatives from Pakatan Harapan (PH), Barisan Nasional (BN), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS), and Warisan.

The council will play an important role in ensuring the terms under the MoU are implemented in an orderly manner to ensure the unity government remains stable and operates effectively, it said.

Under the MoU, the distribution of Cabinet portfolios and chairmanship of parliamentary special select committees (PSC) shall be proportional to the number of MPs each party has in the government.

It also sets out the unity government’s pledge to ensure women make up 30% of the administration.

Earlier, FMT reported that the document was jointly signed by Anwar as PH chairman, BN chairman Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, GPS chairman Abang Johari Openg, GRS chairman Hajiji Noor, and Warisan president Shafie Apdal.

It was also signed by the secretaries-general of the respective parties.