Sources: Zafrul, Maszlee, Saifuddin said to make cabinet comeback via senator posts

(NST) – The current focus on Putrajaya’s cabinet composition has now shifted to the Parliament building.

This is amid speculation that three cabinet candidates will be appointed senators and are expected to be sworn in soon.

However, minutes ago, the media was told that the swearing-in session has been postponed to 8.30am tomorrow.

Sources indicate that one of the names that have emerged is PKR secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail, who lost his bid for the Kulim Bandar Baharu parliamentary seat in the 15th General Election.

Also expected to be sworn is Dr Maszlee Malik, who lost his Simpang Renggam seat in GE15. It is now speculated that Maszlee, who was education minister under the former Pakatan Harapan administration, is hoping to make a comeback to the same post.

Another name that had surfaced in recent days and said to be vying for the finance minister portfolio is Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz, who was the last person to hold the post.

He assumed the post he after being appointed senator in 2020, under the government helmed by Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

He had in GE15 tried to secure a place in parliament, contesting the Kuala Selangor seat, which he lost.

Others who were appointed senators in 2020 were then Federal Territories mufti Zulkifli Mohamad Al-Bakri, who was appointed as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (religious affairs), MCA deputy president Datuk Mah Hang Soon (deputy education minister I); MCA vice-president Datuk Lim Ban Hong (deputy international trade and industry minister); Barisan Nasional executive secretary Datuk Ahmad Masrizal Muhammad (deputy environment minister); and Armada International Relations Bureau chairperson Wan Ahmad Fayhsal Wan Ahmad Kamal (deputy youth and sports minister).

The New Straits Times earlier today reported that the new senators would be sworn in today.

Sources had said that Dewan Negara officials have been instructed to be on standby for the swearing-in ceremony.