GE15: Perikatan to contest 169 parliamentary and 116 state seats

(The Star) – Perikatan Nasional will contest 169 parliamentary seats nationwide for the 15th General Election (GE15) and 116 seats for the Perak, Pahang and Perlis state polls, says Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

The Perikatan chairman said PAS would be contesting 64 parliamentary seats, Gerakan 20 parliamentary seats, Bersatu 74 parliamentary seats and other component parties would contest a total of 11 seats.

“Perikatan will unveil its election manifesto on Nov 6,” he said in his speech before announcing the candidate line up on Tuesday (Nov 1) night.

He added that Perikatan component parties had agreed to contest under a common banner with the exception of Kelantan and Terengganu, where PAS will use its own party logo.

Also announced was Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin to contest the Larut parliamentary seat.

He first won the seat in 2008 under Umno and successfully defended it in 2013 and 2018 but left Umno to become an independent and joined Bersatu in December 2018 where he was appointed as its secretary-general.

Bersatu deputy president Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu will also defend Tambun seat while PAS vice-president Datuk Idris Ahmad will contest the Bagan Serai parliamentary seat.

Bersatu’s Datuk Seri Saifuddin Abdullah will be defending the Indera Mahkota seat, while incumbent Gombak MP Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali would also be defending his seat in GE15.

Muhyiddin also announced that incumbent Titiwangsa MP Datuk Seri Rina Harun would be contesting in Sepang instead while Datuk Mohd Radzi Jidin will contesting in Putrajaya.

Muhyiddin added that he would be defending the Pagoh parliamentary seat in GE15 and Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin was named as Perikatan’s candidate for the Masjid Tanah seat.

Bersatu information chief Datuk Wan Saiful Wan Jan was also announced as the candidate for the Tasek Gelugor seat in Penang.

Incumbent Bandar Tun Razak MP Datuk Kamarudin Jaafar will also be defending his seat.

Perikatan candidates for Kelantan and Terengganu will be announced in the next two days and those for Sabah will be announced later.