Najib paid over RM30 mil to political groups between 2011 and 2013: witness

Bulk of funds went to BN, Umno, testifies R. Uma Devi 

(The Vibes) – Datuk Seri Najib Razak issued 19 cheques totalling more than RM30 million to political groups, mainly linked to Barisan Nasional (BN) and its lynchpin Umno, according to a witness in the former prime minister’s ongoing 1Malaysia Development Bhd (1MDB) trial.

The witness’ statement of AmBank Jalan Raja Chulan branch manager R. Uma Devi states that the payments were made from Najib’s personal AmBank account ending in “9694” between the period of May 2011 and August 2013.

Uma Devi, who is the 26th prosecution witness in Najib’s 1MDB corruption trial, said Najib directed RM30.3 million into several political organisations.

A recipient going by the name of “Umno” received the bulk of the funds with RM20 million on August 1, 2013, followed by Pahang Umno that got RM1.76 million through two transactions – one on February 4 and another on May 7, 2012.

Party liaison committees which were recipients of a RM1 million payment each were Selangor MCA, Kedah Umno, Pahang Umno, Selangor Puteri Umno, and Selangor Wanita Umno.

Other political groups which were payees in 2011 were the Tun Razak Umno division (RM200,000 on June 28) and Indera Mahkota Umno division (RM200,000 on August 11).

Meanwhile, in 2012, a more significant number of transactions to political groups were made, namely to the “Skuad Sayang Parlimen Pekan” (RM50,000 on January 19), Selangor BN (RM400,000 on February 2), the Hulu Selangor parliamentary service centre (RM300,000 on May 2) and the Pekan Wanita Umno division (RM40,000 on April 30).

On June 21, 2019, the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) had filed a civil forfeiture suit against 41 entities covering political parties, individuals and companies to recover RM270 million – the biggest forfeiture in the agency’s history – allegedly from 1MDB funds.

Some of the entities named in the forfeiture suit were mentioned in Uma Devi’s testimony, including the Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) and Sabah’s Liberal Democratic Party (LDP).

Read more here