Hot contest in PKR’s party elections next weekend

(FMT) – The PKR elections kicked off Friday to pick their leaders for the next three years until 2025, with many having their eyes on the deputy presidency contested by Rafizi Ramli and Saifuddin Nasution Ismail.

While Anwar Ibrahim has kept his party presidency uncontested, the fight for other leadership posts, such as for the four elected vice-presidents, is one to watch out for, as 17 are vying for all four.

Among those contesting are Selangor menteri besar Amirudin Shari, Wanita chief Fuziah Salleh, Negeri Sembilan menteri besar Aminuddin Harun and former Perak PKR chief Farhash Wafa Salvador Rizal Mubarak.

Other prominent names are PKR communications director Fahmi Fadzil, party organising secretary Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad and PKR central leadership member Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid.

Also in the mix are Tanjong Malim MP Chang Lih Kang; Alor Setar MP Chan Ming Kai; former Kapar MP G Manivannan; former Perak PKR deputy chairman MA Tinagaran; former Indera Mahkota MP Azan Ismail; former vice-president Mustaffa Kamil Ayub; former PKR Youth vice-president S Thiban; Sentosa assemblyman G Gunarajah; Chuah assemblyman Michael Yek and Bukit Selambau assemblyman R Summugam.

In the tussle to be leader of the youth wing are former student leader Adam Adli Abdul Halim and Fahmi Zainol. Adam has formed a “Seangkatan” group, while Fahmi is part of Rafizi’s “Ayuh Malaysia”.

The deputy youth chief’s fight is between lawyer Kamil Munim and Chua Wei Kiat.

The battle to be women’s wing chief is a straight fight between Roziah Ismail and Fadhlina Sidek. The deputy’s post will see a three-cornered battle between Faizah Ariffin, Juwariya Zulkifli and Napsiah Khamis Maharan.

At the divisional level, one of the notable contests is that in Gombak, where Anwar’s former political secretary Farhash Salvador will take on Selangor PKR leader Amiruddin Shaari, who is menteri besar of the state.

In Penang, the fight between Bayan Baru MP Sim Tze Tzin and Penang executive councillor Halim Hussain is said to be the one to watch as they slug it out to win the Bayan Baru division chief’s post.

Celebrities within the PKR fold are also participating in this year’s election.

Hans Isaac and rapper Syed Ahmad Syed Abdul Rahman Alhadad, better known as Altimet, will contest for the Ampang division chief’s post. Besides them, seven others are also fighting for the post. Hans joined the party in 2020, while Altimet did the same the following year.

A party insider said the Ampang division had been weakened after its former leader Zuraida Kamaruddin left for Bersatu. The two men vying for the post might invigorate and improve low morale there.

Entertainer and Petra Media chief executive Afdlin Shauki is contesting to be Setiawangsa division chief against Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi, who is also gunning for the national veep post.

Online voting will be carried out from May 18-20 for those who have registered, while voting in person started on May 13 and will continue until May 22.

The results of the contests for divisional leadership will be announced on May 23, while those for the deputy presidency and vice-presidencies will be announced on June 26, a day after the party’s national congress on June 24-25.

A separate poll will be held to elect 60 members into the central committee, youth committee and the women’s wing committee. About 2,000 delegates from divisions are expected to cast their polls then.