MPs from both divides form bi-partisan Medical Cannabis Caucus

Members of Parliament from both sides of the political divide will form a bi-partisan parliamentary caucus over regulating the use of ketum and medical cannabis as among recognised forms of medicine in Malaysia.

(NST) – The nine-member Medical Cannabis Caucus (MCC) chaired by Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman (Independent-Muar) will present a draft proposal to the government to ensure patients who rely on ketum and cannabis would be cared for under the public healthcare system.

“As part of the initial framework, the MCC will meet with a group of health experts, researchers, industry players, relevant non-governmental organisations as well as ministries involved to seek views for policy formulation.

“This is also in line with efforts to develop the ketum and Medical Cannabis industry in Malaysia which can benefit the national health industry and the people.

“The MCC believes that with the bi-partisan spirit, good policies and strategies will be implemented for the benefit of the people and country,” the statement read.

The members in the MCC are Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (Umno-Pengerang); Khalid Abd Samad (Amanah-Shah Alam); Datuk Dr Xavier Jayakumar (Independent- Kuala Langat); Datuk Ignatius Darell Leiking (Warisan-Penampang); Dr Kelvin Yii (DAP-Bandar Kuching); Dr Azman Ismail (PKR-Kuala Kedah); Lukanisman Awang Sauni (GPS-Sibuti) and Ahmad Fadhli Shaari (Pas-Pasir Mas).