Report: PM Muhyiddin informs Bersatu MPs of decision to resign tomorrow

(MMO) – Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin is expected to tender his resignation to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong tomorrow.

Malaysiakini reported that Muhyiddin informed of his decision during a high-level meeting with Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) leaders this morning

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Special Functions) Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof told the online news portal that Muhyiddin informed the MPs that he had exhausted all avenues to sustain his administration and resigning was the last resort.

“We just finished the meeting. Tomorrow, there will be a special Cabinet meeting. After that, he will head to Istana Negara to submit his resignation,” Redzuan said.

Earlier when leaving PN headquarters at Publika along Jalan Dutamas, Mohd Redzuan told reporters that an announcement would be made by Muhyiddin tomorrow.

“God willing, there will be an announcement tomorrow. Let us just wait for tomorrow,” Redzuan said.

He also criticised certain quarters for putting their own agendas first while keeping Malaysia’s well-being aside.

“We serve the Constitution. If they withdraw their support out of self-interest, it needs to be managed properly.

“Now it falls on the Agong to ensure the rakyat and the nation will be led by a government concerned for their welfare,” Redzuan said.

Bersatu deputy president and former Perak mentri besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu was also seen leaving but declined to comment beyond confirming that party leaders had attended the meeting.

Several Bersatu ministers and MPs were in attendance, some having arrived before the meeting began at 9am.

They included Housing and Local Government Minister Datuk Zuraida Kamaruddin, Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah, and Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

Others include Deputy Health Minister Datuk Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali, and Deputy Foreign Minister Datuk Kamarudin Jaffar.

Datuk Xavier Jayakumar, formerly of PKR but now an independent MP, was also reportedly in attendance, as was Deputy Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Edmund Santhara Kumar Ramanaidu, and Dewan Rakyat Deputy Speaker Datuk Mohd Rashid Hasnon.