Nazri challenges Anwar to name MPs who no longer support Perikatan

(The Star) – With Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim once again claiming that he “has the numbers”, he must be able back it up or the government of the day will remain standing, says Padang Rengas MP Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz.”

If Anwar claims he has a majority, then the burden of proof is on him to show he has the support – not us,” said Nazri.

Nazri said the Perikatan Nasional government had adequate backing of MPs and they are here to serve the nation.”

“The government still stands,” said Nazri briefly.

He also confirmed that a meeting organised by Umno vice president Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob on Sunday (Aug 1) night at Wisma Perwira, Barisan Nasional MPs affirmed their support for the government.

“We support the Perikatan government,” he added.

Nazri said no statutory declarations (SDs) were signed during the meeting, but it was one where MPs took the opportunity to discuss a statement that 40 Umno MPs support Muhyiddin as prime minister.

Barisan’s executive secretary Muhammad Sahfri had earlier denied that the statement was from Barisan.

Nazri said the meeting was to counter what Sahfri said.

“How can he speak for us 40 MPs? The 40 MPs support Muhyiddin as prime minister,” he said.

On Sunday (Aug 1), Ismail Sabri said the letter was genuine, as it was drafted after consent was obtained from 39 Barisan MPs following a meeting.

Meanwhile, Sinar Harian reported that 30 Barisan MPs are believed to have signed a declaration letter to support Muhyiddin as prime minister during a secret meeting at Wisma Perwira on Sunday night.

Ongoing developments in Umno are being closely monitored as its supreme council is set to have an emergency meeting on Tuesday (Aug 2) with party president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.

At present, there are 220 MPs in the 222-seat Dewan Rakyat following the deaths of former Batu Sapi MP Datuk Liew Vui Keong and former Gerik MP Datuk Hasbullah Osman.

Pakatan Harapan has 35 MPs from PKR, 42 from DAP, and 11 from Amanah’.

Other Opposition parties include Parti Pejuang Tanah Air (four MPs), the unregistered Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (one), Parti Warisan Sabah (eight), Parti Sarawak Bersatu (one), and one independent MP, former education minister Dr Maszlee Malik.

Barisan Nasional has 42 MPs, comprising 38 from Umno, two from MCA, and one each from MIC and PBRS.