Dewan Rakyat to have only 80 MPs, sitting from 10 am to 2 pm – Speaker

(Bernama) – The Dewan Rakyat has decided to allow only 80 MPs to attend per sitting, which will be limited from Nov 9 to Nov 15 (10 am to 2 pm), in view of the Covid-19 situation, Speaker Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun announced today.

He said these measures are some of the adjustments to the Dewan Rakyat Order of Business for the Third Meeting of the Third Session of the 14th Parliament to ensure smooth running of the Dewan Rakyat amid the pandemic.

Azhar said the decision was reached at the Dewan Rakyat Order of Business Coordination Meeting following the Spread of Covid-19 yesterday, which was also attended by 10 party chief whips.

He said the decision was made after taking into consideration the advice from the Ministry of Health (MOH) and the National Security Council (MKN).

“The Dewan Rakyat will sit only from 10 am to 2 pm. The Question Time on Mondays and Wednesdays will be held for an hour from 10 am to 11 am.

“On Tuesdays and Thursdays, the Question Time will be held for 55 minutes from 10.05 am to 11 am. Only one supplementary question will be allowed and it must be as simple as possible,” he announced at the sitting today.