Record 25 MPs file no-confidence motions against Muhyiddin

A record 25 opposition MPs have filed motions of no-confidence against Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin as listed in the Order Paper.

(FMT) – One motion is from Kepong MP Lim Lip Eng, who is from DAP, and another from Tawau MP Christina Liew, who is Sabah PKR chief.

Similar motions have come from all 11 MPs from Amanah, seven from Warisan and five from Pejuang.

There are also two motions of confidence submitted by Pasir Puteh MP Nik Muhammad Zawawi Salleh from PAS, and Arau MP Shahidan Kassim from Barisan Nasional.

The Order Paper sighted by FMT showed there were a total of 62 motions submitted by opposition MPs and government backbenchers.

In May and July, former prime minister and Langkawi MP Dr Mahathir Mohamad submitted a no-confidence motion but it was not debated.

Muhyiddin’s support came under question again after opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim was granted an audience by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong on Oct 13, after claiming to have a “convincing majority support”.

Istana Negara said Anwar did not present a list of the MPs who supported him, while the King advised the PKR president to “respect the due process of the law”.

Beruas MP Ngeh Koo Ham said in an interview with FMT a no-confidence motion against Muhyiddin should take precedence over other matters and should be the first item on the agenda of the Dewan Rakyat, which resumes sitting on Nov 2.

Ngeh, a former Perak legislative assembly speaker, said there was no purpose in MPs going through other items on the agenda “if the Perikatan Nasional government was going to fall”.

Dewan Rakyat Speaker Azhar Azizan Harun has taken the position that a motion of no confidence could not be debated without the consent of a minister.

Rules 15 (1) and (2) of the Standing Orders state that government affairs shall have precedence over other matters, and arranged in accordance with government considerations.

Constitutional lawyers said Parliament could not be subservient to the executive when the democratic system under the Federal Constitution requires the executive to be answerable to the legislature.