Multi-cornered fights everywhere in Sabah polls

(FMT) –  Nominations for the 16th Sabah elections closed at 10am today, with multi-cornered fights in all the 73 seats.

Information is still trickling in but the most number of contestants so far is at Inanam with 10 candidates squaring up against each other for the state seat.

Among those contesting there are former chief minister Chong Kah Kiat, PBS’ William Majimbon and sacked Sabah PKR vice-chairman Kenny Chua, who is defending the seat as an independent.

Api-Api will see a nine-cornered fight with incumbent Sabah PKR chairman Christina Liew defending her seat against PBS deputy president Yee Moh Chai and Liberal Democratic Party acting president Chin Su Phin, among others.

Warisan deputy president Darell Leiking is in a seven-way battle for the Kadazandusun Murut majority seat of Moyog in the Penampang parliamentary constituency against, among others, Parti Cinta Sabah candidate William Sampil, who is a former Penampang district officer, and STAR’s Joe Sulaiman.

Sabah DAP acting chief Frankie Poon, on the other hand, is facing six other contestants in defending the Tanjong Papat seat in the Sandakan parliamentary area.

In the new state seat of Segama in the Lahad Datu parliamentary constituency, former tourism minister Mohamadin Ketapi will face off against seven others for the seat.

PCS president Anifah Aman, meanwhile, will only need to vie against three others for the Bongawan state seat.

Sabah PPBM chief Hajiji Noor is also in a three-cornered fight to defend his Sulaman seat.