Dr M does not want 12 specific Umno MPs in Bersatu, claims Zahid

(The Star) – Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has identified 12 Umno lawmakers he does not want in Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, claims Umno president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi (pic).

News portal The Malaysian Insight reported that Dr Ahmad Zahid claimed that the Bersatu president invited him to defect and disband Umno, but not all lawmakers from the Barisan Nasional component party would be accepted.

“He said MPs could jump parties, but they would not accept all,” he was quoted as saying in a meeting with Umno supreme council members and Pahang division committee members on Saturday (Nov 17).

Bersatu deputy president Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir had previously said that Umno MPs such as Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, Dr Ahmad Zahid, Datuk Seri Abdul Azeez Abdul Rahim and Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz would not be considered for Bersatu membership.

Dr Ahmad Zahid also said that Mukhriz had “left out” eight names but declined to say who they were.

He said that in a previous meeting with the premier, Dr Mahathir had told him that Umno was no longer accepted by the people.

“He asked me to jump and disband Umno, but I didn’t want to,” the portal quoted Zahid as saying.