DAP’s Ramkarpal wins Bukit Gelugor by-election

Ramkarpal Singh Deo

(Bernama) – DAP candidate Ramkarpal Singh Deo won the Bukit Gelugor parliamentary seat by-election on Sunday, defeating three other candidates by a majority of 37,659 votes.

Ramkarpal garnered 41,242 votes while the candidate from Parti Cinta Malaysia (PCM) Huan Cheng Guan obtained 3,583 votes.

Independent candidate Muhammad Nabi Bux Mohd Nabi Abdul Sathar obtained 799 votes while another independent candidate Abu Backer Sidek Mohamad Zan managed 225 votes.

The results were announced by returning officer Captain (Rtd) Anuar Yahya.

Ramkarpal is the third son of late Bukit Gelugor MP Karpal Singh.

The majority votes obtained by Ramkarpal were 5,047 votes or 11.8 per cent lesser than that garnered by his late father.

In the general election last year, Karpal Singh won the seat with a 42,706-vote majority, defeating Barisan Nasional candidate Teh Beng Yeam who polled 13,597 votes.

The parliamentary seat of Bukit Gelugor in the state of Penang was vacated after Karpal Singh, a veteran lawyer and politician, died in a road accident on April 17.