Shocking results at Penang DAP polls

Incumbent state secretary Ng Wei Aik and national deputy secretary-general Chong Eng fail to get elected into the 15-person state committee. 

Athi Shankar, FMT

Penang DAP polls today produced shocking results when incumbent state secretary Ng Wei Aik and national deputy secretary-general Chong Eng failed to get elected into the 15-person state committee.

Tanjung MP Ng, also the Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng’s political secretary, could only garner 267 votes from the 675 delegates who cast their ballots at the party state ordinary convention held at George Town City hotel.

Pakatan Rakyat government executive councillor and Padang Lalang state representative Chong Eng only got 202 votes.

Seri Delima assemblyman and incumbent committee member RSN Rayer also failed to make the cut, getting only 289 votes in another surprise result.

Jelutong MP Jeff Ooi Chuan Aun, who made headlines recently with his infamous “kucing kurap” remark, could only secure 120 votes.

Penang DAP chairman Chow Kon Yeow proved to be most popular leader among the delegates when he come tops with 621 votes, 146 more than runners-up Jagdeep Singh, who got 475 votes.

Chow, as usual showing humility and composure, was moved by the strong support from the delegates.

But he also knew that the delegates have given him a mandate to lead the party to greater heights in Penang.

“I’m humbled by the overwhelming support.

“But with greater mandate comes greater responsibility to lead the party to victory,” Chow told newsmen after the polls results were announced.

Incumbent vice-chairman Lim Hock Seng finished third with 372 votes, followed by Guan Eng’s blue-eyed boy and Bukit Bendera MP Zairil Khir Johari (362), Lim Hui Ying (361), Teh Yee Cheu (358), Phee Boon Poh and Yeoh Soon Hin (both 336).

Deputy Chief Minister II and party national deputy secretary-general P Ramasamy secured 331 votes to finish ninth, ahead of Koay Teng Hai (330), Wong Hon Wai (323), Gooi Seong Kin (314), Harvindar Singh (314), A Tanasekharan (306) and Teh Lai Heng (297).

A total 675 votes cast, with 661 valid votes and 14 spoilt.