Umno wings flying strong into GE14

The outcome in yesterday’s party polls has been described as consolidating Umno’s preparation to face the 14th General Election

Free Malaysia Today

The victory of Shahrizat Abdul Jalil, Khairy Jamaluddin and Mas Ermieyati Samsudin as the Wanita Umno, Umno Youth and Puteri Umno chiefs, respectively, has been described as consolidating Umno’s preparation to face the 14th General Election.

This was stated by the party’s information chief,Ahmad Maslan, who said the first test for the three wings would be the by-election for the state seat of Sungai Limau in Kedah on Nov 4.

Ahmad said the chiefs of the three wings received strong support from the divisions, with the results as at 3.30 am today showing Shahrizat having garnered 100 votes; Khairy, 97 and Mas Ermieyati, 96.

Shahrizat retained the post after brushing aside the challenge from Maznah Mazlan and Raihan Suleiman while Khairy was returned after staving off the challenge from Syed Rosli Syed Harman, Akhramsyah Muammar Ubaidah Sanusi, Irwan Ambak Khalid Izhar and Abd Karim Ali.

Mas Ermieyati became the new Puteri Umno chief after beating Jamilah Hanim Othman.

In Terengganu, Shahrizat and Khairy, who is the Youth and Sports Minister, secured the support of all the eight divisions.

For the post of Wanita Umno vice-head, all the divisions elected Azizah Mohd Dun except Kuala Nerus which voted for the other candidate, Suraya Yaacob.

For the post of Umno Youth vice-head, the Besut division supported Jamawi Jaafar, Hulu Terengganu supported Khairul Azwan Harun and Setiu picked Lokman Nor Adam.

Mas Ermieyati Samsudin garnered five votes from Terengganu while the other candidate for Puteri Umno chief, Jamilah Hanim Othman, received one vote.

The divisions which supported Mas Ermieyati were Besut, Kuala Terengganu, Marang, Hulu Terengganu and Setiu while Kuala Nerus backed Jamilah Hanim.

For the post of Puteri Umno vice-head, Zahida Zarik Khan and Norsabrina Mohd Nor received three votes each. Zahida got her votes from Besut, Setiu and Kuala Nerus while Norsabrina received hers from Kuala Terengganu, Marang and Hulu Terengganu.

The results for the Dungun and Kemaman divisions were not known yet.