Trouble, trouble for Pakatan in Labuan

PKR has no locus standi to demand for seats when many of its elected representatives defected after the 2008 general elections, says Labuan PAS.

(FMT) – The defections from PKR following the 2008 general election have returned to haunt the party and put its credibility in question.

Hellbent on contesting the Labuan parliamentary seat, Labuan PAS chief Hamir Zahari said PKR has no locus standi to assert itself over PAS in seat negotiations.

“No member of parliament from PAS has ever jumped to another party and none has ever left the party.

“In terms of PAS’s integrity, we are solid,” he said.

Since the 2008 general election, six PKR elected representatives have defected. They are Mohsin Fadzli Samsuri (Bagan Serai), Zulkifli Noordin (Kulim-Bandar Baharu), Zahrain Mohamed Hashim (Bayan Baru), N Gobalakrishnan (Padang Serai), Tan Tee Beng (Nibong Tebal) and Wee Choo Keong (Wangsa Maju).

Even more significant is that PKR defectors had contributed to the opposition coalition losing control over Perak.

In the 2008 general election, Pakatan Rakyat through PAS, PKR and DAP was democratically elected to five states – Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan.

Pakatan wrested Perak from Barisan Nasional with a slim majority, winning 32 state assembly seats compared with BN’s 27.

However, defections from PKR and DAP saw BN taking over the state a year later.

Labuan PAS blocks PKR

In an open defiance against Pakatan chief Anwar Ibrahim’s declaration last Friday that PKR will field its candidate Ibrahim Menudin in Labuan, Labuan PAS responded with a resounding “no way”.

Said Hamri: “The seat was agreed back in 2011 during a Pakatan meeting at Federal Territory level.

“At the time, we had agreed that out of 13 parliamentary seats in the Federal Territory, five of them were for PKR, another five for DAP.

“The balance three were for PAS. As such, PAS will stand in Putrajaya, Titiwangsa and Labuan.

“Therefore our candidate will stand in Labuan in this coming 13th general election.”

Hamir said PAS would contest in 76 parliamentary seats nationwide, including Labuan, where it will field Hadnan Mohamad.

PAS has already named Husam Musa in Putrajaya and Zamri Khuzaimi in Titiwangsa.