GE13: Dissent within PKR over Teluk Kemang seats

(The Star) – PORT DICKSON: PKR leaders here are at loggerheads over candidates for the Teluk Kemang parliamentary and state seats.

The party’s Teluk Kemang division chief and outgoing Port Dickson assemblyman M. Ravi and state PKR chairman and outgoing Teluk Kemang MP Datuk Kamarul Baharin Abbas (picture) have submitted different candidates for state seats in the Teluk Kemang constituency.

It is also learnt that Ravi has recommended Badrul Hisham Shaharin and another member, Datuk M. Nadarajah, to contest the Teluk Kemang parliamentary seat.

However, Kamarul’s camp has recommended that he be considered to defend the Teluk Kemang seat while state vice-chief V. Aridass contest for the Port Dickson state seat.

Kamarul’s name was also proposed for the Ampangan state seat, causing unhappiness in the Seremban division, which had nominated its deputy Dr Rafaie Mohamad.

The outgoing Ampangan PKR representative, Rashid Latiff, has decided not to seek re-election.

“Kamarul is also tipped to contest in Ampangan because if the Opposition takes over Negri Sembilan, he will then be the obvious choice for Mentri Besar,” said a source.

In KUALA TERENGGANU, PKR is disputing state PAS commissioner Abdul Wahid Endut’s announcement that the party will contest seven out of eight parliamentary seats in the state.

“This is a decision that has been agreed within Pakatan Rakyat,” said Abdul Wahid at a press conference on Thursday.

Terengganu PKR chief Azan Ismail, however, said nothing had been finalised.