Pakatan ‘list’ circulates on Twitter

It is said to be up to date as of yesterday.

Leven Woon, FMT

A social activist has leaked through Twitter what he said was the most recently updated Pakatan Rakyat list of candidates for the general election.

Adrian Ng, a member of the civic groups Loyar Buruk told FMT he obtained the list from a PKR insider. He posted it on Twitter last night and said it was up to date as of yesterday.

According to the list, which has 63 names, PKR secretary-general Saifuddin Nasution, who is the current Machang MP, will shift to the Kulim Bandar Baru seat in Kedah. Zulkifli Noordin won it for PKR in 2008, but he was sacked from the party in 2010 and became an independent MP supportive of BN.

The list names new candidates for two DAP strongholds in Perak. Former Perak assembly speaker V Sivakumar replaces Fong Po Kuan in Batu Gajah and Canning assemblyman Wong Kah Woh replaces M Kulasegaran in Ipoh Barat.

Fong and Kulasegaran are said to be in the bad books of Perak DAP chairman Ngeh Koo Ham and secretary Nga Kor Ming.

However, Ng’s tweet said Pakatan had yet to finalise its decision on the two seats.

In Johor, PAS vice president Salahuddin Ayub is said to be contesting for the Pulai parliament seat and former deputy army chief Abdul Ghafir Abdul Hamid, who recently joined PKR, will stand in Pasir Gudang, also a parliament seat. Johor PKR chief Chua Jui Meng is said to be running for either the Segamat or Kulai parliament seat.

Chua is calling for a press conference tomorrow. He is expected to announce his election plan after disappearing from the public eye for two weeks. Sources said he was sulking over Pakatan’s decision to let DAP strongman Lim Kit Siang contest in Gelang Patah.

Here is the list according to Adrian Ng: