Father and son team sweep DAP polls

None of the Malay candidates who contested made it to the central executive committee.

Leven Woon, FMT

The father and son team of Lim Kit Siang and Lim Guan Eng topped the DAP central executive committee (CEC) elections at the DAP 16th Congress held here today.

The elder Lim, who is also party adviser topped the list  followed by the Penang chief minister and party secretary general Lim Guan Eng. DAP chairman Karpal Singh came in third.

A total 1,823 delegates voted in the elections to pick 20 CEC members. These members would among themselves decide who would hold the party’s top positions tomorrow.

The elder Lim obtained 1,607 votes, followed by (Lim) Guan Eng who garnered 1,576 votes while Karpal obtained 1,411 votes.

Some others delegates who formed 20-member line up include Chong Chieng Jen, Loke Siew Fook, Tan Kok Wai, Tony Pua, Fong Kui Lun, Nga Kor Ming, Chong Eng, Chow Kon Yew, M. Kulasegaran, Teresa Kok, Ngeh Koo Ham, Teng Chang Kim and Boo Cheng Hau.

It must also be noted that none of the Malay candidates who contested made it to the CEC.

The biggest casualties of the polls appear to be veteran DAP leader and Kepong member of parliament Tan Seng Giaw. Penang deputy chief minister and Batu Kawan member of parliament P Ramasamy also failed to make the cut.

Apart from Karpal and his son Gobind Singh Deo,  Ipoh Barat member of parliament M Kulasegaran were the only Indian representatives in the 20-member CEC.

The new CEC members will meet tomorrow to elect among themselves the office bearers, as well as to appoint 10 other members to sit in the committee.

Those elected are:

1.  Lim Kit Siang (1,607 votes)
2.  Lim Guan Eng (1,576)
3.  Karpal Singh (1,411)
4.  Chong Chieng Jen (1,211)
5.  Loke Siew Fook (1,202)
6.  Vincent Vu (1,202) [new]
7.  Tan Kok Wai (1,199)
8.  Gobind Singh Deo (1,197)
9.  Tony Pua (1,162)
10. Teng Chang Khim (1,152)
11. Fong Kui Lun (1,137)
12. Nga Kor Ming (1,075)
13. Chong Eng (1,006)
14. Chow Kon Yeow (986)
15. Liew Chin Tong (984) [new]
16. M Kulasegaran (984)
17. Boo Cheng Hau (958)
18. Teresa Kok (925)
19. Teo Nie Ching (903) [new]
20. Ngeh Koo Ham (824)

Five candidates dropped out of the DAP central executive committee contest earlier today. They are Choong Siew Onn, Er Teck Hwa, Jaya Balan Valliappan, Teo Kok Seong and Violet Yong Wui Wui.