Karpal vindicated by FMT poll

The poll carried out by FMT revealed overwhelming support for the DAP chairman’s ‘one man-one seat proposal’.

Athi Shankar, FMT

DAP national chairman Karpal Singh is vindicated by overwhelming public support for his “one man-one seat” proposal as indicated by a FMT poll.

He said the news portal poll showed that his proposal had caught the public’s imagination as it had become a major political issue of national interest.

The FMT poll on “Do you agree with Karpal Singh’s ‘one candidate-one seat’ policy?” showed 2,037 or 78% out of 2,622 readers, who voted as of today (Saturday) backing the formula.

Another 499 readers or 19% did not support it while 86 or three percent voters were unsure.

“The people overwhelmingly supported the ‘one man – one seat’ proposal. I feel vindicated,” Karpal told reporters during his Bukit Gelugor parliamentary constituency visit here today.

Asked on party secretary-general Lim Guan Eng’s call on members not to discuss the issue in public, he concurred that the public debate should be laid to rest for now.

But he conceded that it would be difficult and improper to control the public, especially party members, from airing their views on an issue of such importance.

“The FMT poll showed it has become a major public interest issue,” he noted.

Currently, DAP had nine double seat elected representatives, both as MP and assemblyperson.

Apart from Lim, who is Bagan MP and Air Putih assemblyman, Penang has executive councillor and party state chairman Chow Kon Yeow as Tanjung MP and Padang Kota assemblyman and Deputy Chief Minister II P Ramasamy as Batu Kawan MP and Prai assemblyman.

Perak had party’s state chairman Ngeh Koo Ham as Beruas MP and Sitiawan assemblyman and secretary Nga Kor Ming as Taiping MP and Pantai Remis assemblyman.

Selangor’s executive councillor and party chairman Teresa Kok is Seputeh MP and Kinrara assemblyperson while DAP’s Negeri Sembilan chairman and Youth chief Anthony Loke Siew Fook is Rasah MP and Lobak assemblyman.

In Sarawak, there are Sibu MP and Bukit Assek assemblyman Wong Ho Leng and Bandar Kuching MP and Kota Sentosa assemblyman Chong Chieng Jen.

CEC approved the formula

Karpal also revealed that the party’s central executive committee (CEC) had delegated its power to a three-man special committee to ultimately decide on the “one man – one seat” issue and its exemptions, and choice of candidates for each constituency.