PSM wants Jelapang state seat

PSM is asking DAP to hand over the seat where its candidate quit the party after the 2008 polls.

(Free Malaysia Today) – Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) central committee member Dr D Michael Jeyakumar said the Jelapang state seat in Perak should be allocated to PSM in the upcoming 13th general election.

“We should get the seat. DAP got the seat and lost the (state) government,” he told FMT today.

The Sungai Siput MP said PSM deputy president M Sarasvathy had been working in the Jelapang constituency even before the 2008 general election.

“We only want one state and one parliament seat in Perak,” he added.

In the 2008 general election, Sarasvathy was defeated in a three-cornered fight which also involved DAP and Barisan Nasional.

DAP rep Hee Yit Foong subsequently quit the party leading to the fall of the Pakatan Rakyat state government in 2009.

Meanwhile, Jeyakumar confirmed that he would defend his seat regardless of who the MIC would field.

There is speculation within MIC that secretary-general S Murugesan would be contesting in Sungai Siput, a seat long held by MIC strongman S Samy Vellu until his defeat in the hands of Jeyakumar  in 2008.

PSM secretary-general S Arutchelvan also echoed calls for the Jelapang seat to be given to PSM.