PSM 6 charged for subversion


(The Malaysian Insider) – The six Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) members who were released from their Emergency Ordinance (EO) detention last Friday were charged today for possession of subversive documents.

The six, including Sungai Siput MP Dr Michael Devaraj Jeyakumar, claimed trial to the charges under Section 43 and 48(1) of the Societies Act as well as Section 29(1) of the Internal Security Act.

Butterworth Sessions Court judge Kamal Hisham Mohd Tajuddin set bail at RM8,000 each, and fixed hearing for October 10.

The charge was also read to another 24 PSM supporters who were also arrested on June 25 in the run-up to the July 9 Bersih rally for attempting to revive communism and “waging war against the Agong.”

Although the two dozen were later released, the six were rearrested under the EO on July 2 before being released on the second day of Dr Jeyakumar’s hunger strike against his detention without trial.

The 30 people facing the two charges under the Societies Act could end up being jailed for a total of eight years and/or a combined fine of RM10,000 if convicted.