PSM 6 released

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR, July 29 — Six PSM (Parti Sosialis Malaysia) members, including Sungai Siput MP Dr Michael Devaraj Jeyakumar (picture), were released at 5.30pm this evening from their detention under the Emergency Ordinance (EO).

The MP’s brother, Selangor state executive councillor Xavier Jeyakumar, confirmed the news when contacted by The Malaysian Insider.

“Yes, his wife has spoken to him. We are trying to confirm the details now,” the PKR leader said.

PKR vice president N. Surendran also said related paperwork was being processed at the Jinjang police station.

According to The Star, the Attorney-General will decide on the next course of action for the six who were initially held on June 25 with 24 others in the run-up to the July 9 Bersih rally for allegedly attempting to revive communism and waging war against the Agong.