Najib hands out appointment letters to MACC panel members

(The Star) – Blogger Syed Akbar Ali is one of five new members of a Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) panel who received their letters of appointment for the next two years from Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak Friday.

He sits on the Consultation and Prevention of Corruption Panel (PPPR) which had seven of its 11 members retained and five more added to bring the new membership to 12.

All the seven members of the Operations Evaluation Panel (PPO) were retained and two new members were added to raise the membership to nine.

Besides Syed Akbar, who runs the blog “Outsyed The Box”, the four other new members of the PPPR are Media Prima Bhd Chairman Datuk Johan Jaaffar, Limkokwing University President Tan Sri Dr Lim Kok Wing, Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations of Malaysia (Fomca) President Datuk Marimuthu Nadason and Federation of Chinese Associations of Malaysia (Huazong) Deputy Secretary-General Prof Dr Chin Yew Sin.

Najib handed the appointment letters at a brief ceremony at the Prime Minister’s Office, here.

The seven members retained are former Bernama General Manager Datuk Seri Azman Ujang, Star Publications (M) Bhd Editor-in-Chief/Executive Director Datuk Seri Wong Chun Wai, former Masterskill University College of Health Sciences Vice-Chancellor Datuk Dr Ishak Tambi Kechik, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) Principal Research Fellow at the Institute of Ethnic Studies Anis Yusal Yusoff.

Principal Fellow at the Institute of Malaysian and International Studies (IKMAS) Prof Emeritus Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Embong, Business Ethics Institute of Malaysia Chairman Dr Zainal Abidin Abdul Majid and DC & A Group Sdn Bhd Managing Director.

The two new members of the PPO are Bank Negara Malaysia Special Adviser Datuk Zamani Abdul Ghani and Senior Federal Counsel in the Attorney-General’s Chambers Datuk Abdul Razak Musa.

The seven members retained are former Auditor-General Tan Sri Dr Hadenan Abdul Jalil, former Arbitration Council of Malaysia Chairman Tan Sri Cecil Abraham, Audit Oversight Board Executive Chairman Nik Mohd Hasyudeen Yusoff, Malaysian Institute of Accountants Audit and Assurance Standards Board (AASB) member Walter Sandosam, Amanah Raya Berhad Independent Non-Executive Director Datin Aminah Pit Abdul Rahman, IA Group Chief Executive Officer Datuk Dr Hamzah Kassim and Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) Faculty of Accountancy Professor Dr Syed Noh Syed Ahmad.