Zaid, Badrul Hisham lead in Negri Sembilan

By Zefry Dahalan, FMT

SEREMBAN: After two weeks of polling in eight PKR divisions in Negri Sembilan, deputy president contender Zaid Ibrahim emerged the leader having secured three nominations to two for Azmin Ali, the other contestant.

For the national Youth chief post, Badrul Hisham Shaharin, a Youth executive council member, led the pack as his closest challenger Mohd Rafizi Ramli was unable to secure a single nomination.

Badrul Hashim was also returned unopposed as Rembau division chief while his deputy Yusof Tapar also won uncontested.

Meanwhile, Rembau nominated Anwar Ibrahim for president and Zaid for the number two slot. For vice-president, the division nominated Fuziah Salleh (Kuantan MP), N Gobalakrishnan (Padang Serai MP), Dr Lee Boon Chai (Gopeng MP) and Samsul Iskandar Mat Akin (Malacca PKR chief).

In Teluk Kemang, giant killer M Ravi (Port Dickson state assemblyman) became its new chief after he trounced Teluk Kemang MP and state PKR chief, Kamarul Baharin Abbas, with a thumping majority. His teammate Rusli Abdullah won the deputy chief post.

Teluk Kemang also nominated Anwar for president and Zaid for the second spot. For vice-president, the division picked Fuziah, Gobalakrishnan, Lee and Nurul Izzah Anwar (Lembah Pantai MP).

In Tampin, Baharuddin Arif Siri was elected the new chief while Hassim Othman took the deputy post.

Tampin also nominated Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail for president and Zaid for the number two post. Fuziah, Gobalakrishnan, Samsul Iskandar and Chua Jui Meng (Johor PKR Chief) were proposed for vice-president.

Felda leader

The man who led the 766 settlers from Felda Serting and Felda Raja Alias schemes to sue Felda at the Seremban High Court in August, Karip Mohd Salleh, was returned unopposed as Jempol chief. His deputy is Sharifudin Musin.

Jempol put forward Wan Azizah and Azmin for the posts of president and deputy president respectively. Fuziah, Samsul Iskandar, R Sivarasa (Subang MP) and Penang Deputy Chief Minister 1 Dr Mansor Othman were recommended for vice-president.

Over at Jelebu, Syed Hussain Syed Idros won the chief post uncontested. His deputy is Tang Jay Son.

Jelebu too nominated both Wan Azizah and Azmin respectively for the two top posts in the party. For the vice-presidential slot, Fuziah, Samsul Iskandar, Boon Chai and Mustaffa Kamil Ayub (Perak PKR chief) were picked.