Four from Pakatan reject appointments to assembly

(The Star) IPOH: Four Perak Pakatan Rakyat assemblymen have rejected their appointment to the state assembly’s select committee.

The four – Yee Seu Kai (DAP-Pokok Assam), Ong Boon Piow (DAP-Tebing Tinggi), Mohd Anuar Sidin (PAS-Changkat Jong) and Dr Khalil Idham Lim Abdullah (PAS-Titi Serong) – received their appointment letters signed by assembly secretary Abdullah Antong Sabri dated June 17.

DAP state secretary Nga Kor Ming said the appointments were done without the knowledge and approval of the four.

“It is inappropriate as those appointed were not asked whether they agreed to be appointed,” he told reporters yesterday.

Also present at the press conference were the four assemblymen.

Nga, who is also Taiping MP, also questioned the legality of the appoint­ments as the matter was not raised during the controversial May 7 assembly.

The sitting proper did not start as the House was adjourned sine die after the delivery of the royal speech by Raja Muda of Perak Raja Dr Nazrin Shah then, he added.

Former Perak mentri besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin, who was also present, said the appointments made a mockery of the assembly. “It is not that we do not want to serve the people but there was no such motion tabled on their appointments,” he said.