Three independent reps keep their seats

(The Star) – The three independent Perak state assemblymen who quit their parties will keep their seats after the Federal Court ruled that the Election Commission had the right to decide whether state seats are vacant.

Jelapang assemblyman Hee Yit Foong, Behrang assemblyman Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Changkat Jering assemblyman Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu resigned from their political parties in the Pakatan Rakyat coalition government in February.

They threw their support behind the Barisan Nasional as independents, causing the fall of the Pakatan state government.

Perak State Assembly Speaker V. Sivakumar announced that three had quit their seats as well, based on an undated resignation letter the three had previously signed. They denied this.

Sivakumar had asked the Commission to declare the seats vacant and to call for by-elections, but the Commission did not do so.