Jeli MP Zahari Kechik says he is now an independent MP under unity govt

Jeli Member of Parliament (MP) Zahari Kechik said he is now an independent MP under the unity government.

(NST) – In his first statement after being terminated from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) last month, Zahari said this was his new status.

“l will remain as an independent MP under the unity government until the next 16th General Election (GE16).

“The issue whether l will contest in next GE16 has yet to arise and at the moment, l have no plan to join any political party,” he told the New Straits Times.

Zahari said he believed the Dewan Rakyat Speaker would decide on his status and that of the other five MPs this week.

The other five are Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal, Kuala Kangsar MP Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid, Tanjong Karang MP Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi, Labuan MP Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman and Gua Musang’s Mohd Azizi Abu Naim, who was also the former Nenggiri assemblyman.

Bersatu, via its vice-president and chief whip, Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee confirmed that it had submitted the notice to Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Johari Abdul’s office on the status of its six MPs.

Kiandee in a statement on June 20 had said the notice was submitted in accordance to Article 49A of the Federal Constitution, asking Johari to declare the six seats vacant.

On June 24, Johari was reported to have said that he would study the notice first before making the decision.

Johari said he has 21 days to study the notice.