Bukit Gelugor by-election nomination: It’s a 4-cornered fight

bkt gelugor nomintn3.fz_.com_

(fz.com) – 10.25am – Returning officer announces four confirmed candidates. They are Huan Cheng Guan of Parti Cinta Malaysia (PCM), Mohd Nabi Bux Mohd Abdul Sathar (Ind), Ramkarpal Singh (DAP) and Abu Backer Sidek Mohd Zin (Ind).

Nominations closed at 10am. It’s a four-cornered fight.

9:35am – While Pakatan supporters are roaring with cries of war, PCM and Independent supporters wait idly outside the centre.

9.05am – Ramkarpal enters nomination centre with PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, DAP advisor Lim Kit Siang, PKR president Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail and others. Also with Ramkarpal are PKR deputy president Azmin Ali, Selangor MB Tan Sri Abdul Khalid Ibrahim and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng.

The festive music and slogan crying continue outside the Dewan Sri Pinang gate: “Siapa takut?… BN takut!” “Hancur PCM!!” “Harimau Bukit Gelugor sudah sampai, BN sudah lari!”… “Tolak GST”

8.55am – The drumming starts again anyway as the procession of DAP, PKR and PAS supporters and leaders inches forward.

8.53am – Alleged PAS member Mohd Nabi Bux Mohd Abdul Sathar makes his way with some 60 supporters carrying banners calling for ‘Hudud in Penang 2020’. The group made up of people dressed in black and and women in ‘purdah’ (veil of the face) walk briskly and quietly behind a smiling Mohamad Nabi.

8.50am – Drum music fusion jamming starts with Chinese lion dance drummers pounding away with bhangra and kompang groups. However, they are asked to stop after a while when a police officer tells them no music is allowed towards nomination centre.
8.45am – Parti Cinta Malaysia vice president Huan Cheng Guan walked into the nomination centre courtyard. About 50 multi-ethnic group with PCM flags walk into the courtyard too.

Huan offers a prayer before beginning his walk to the nomination centre.

8.35am – Ramkarpal Singh arrives on a jeep at the Esplanade for a procession to nomination centre for the Bukit Gelugor by-election at Dewan Sri Pinang. Numerous Pakatan Rakyat leaders present with a support crowd of about 400 people.