PPP submits names for four parliament, 12 state seats

(Bernama) – The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has submitted the names of candidates for four parliamentary and 12 state seats in the upcoming general election.

PPP senior vice-president Datuk Maglin Dennis D’Cruz said the candidates comprised mostly of new faces, except for PPP president Datuk M. Kayveas, and this reflected the transformation made by the party.

He said it would be up to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak to decide on the candidates.

“We have submitted our list. We believe our candidates are highly qualified and have the credibility to ensure victory for BN (Barisan Nasional) in the general election,” he told reporters after attending the Deepavali open house organised by the Federal Territories PPP here.

Asked whether his name was included, Maglin said he would not be contesting to make way for new faces.

He said if the party’s candidates were not selected, it would not stop PPP from working closely with BN for their mutual benefit.

In the 2008 general election, PPP was allocated only two seats, namely Taiping parliamentary seat and Pasir Bedamar state seat.

In Taiping, Kayveas lost to DAP’s Nga Kor Ming by 11,298-vote majority, while in Pasir Bedamar, PPP’s Lee Heng lost to DAP’s Seah Leong Peng by 7,914-vote majority.