PSM 6 drop suit against IGP, home minister

By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

Freed from their month-long detention without trial, six Parti Sosialis Malaysia (PSM) members agreed today to withdraw their suit against the home minister and the Inspector-General of Police (IGP).

Sungai Siput MP Dr Jeyakumar Devaraj along with PSM deputy president Sarasvathy Muthu, Sungai Siput branch secretary Letchumanan Aseer Patham, branch president Sukumaran Munisamy, Bayan Baru branch president Choo Chon Kai and Youth chief Sarat Babu Raman had filed a writ of habeas corpus early last month after they were arrested under a preventive law meant to counter terrorism.

They had been detained under the Emergency Ordinance from July 2 and were let out on July 29.

Federal lawyers representing the IGP Tan Sri Ismail Omar, Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and the Malaysian government had told the High Court earlier that the PSM application was now moot since the six were no longer detained.

While their detention case has become academic, the six were charged two days ago at the Butterworth Sessions Court with possession of subversive documents.

All six claimed trial to the charges under Section 43 and 48(1) of the Societies Act as well as Section 29(1) of the Internal Security Act.

Butterworth Sessions Court judge Kamal Hisham Mohd Tajuddin set bail at RM8,000 each, and fixed hearing for October 10.

The charge was also read to another 24 PSM supporters who were also arrested on June 25 in the run-up to the July 9 Bersih rally, for attempting to revive communism and “waging war against the Agong.”

Although the two dozen were later released, the six were rearrested under the EO on July 2 before being released on the second day of Dr Jeyakumar’s hunger strike against his detention without trial.